colleagues working in a chemical laboratory
Case Study
ALTANA

Die Chemie stimmt: Das preisgekrönte Onboarding von ALTANA

Die ALTANA AG ist ein global führendes Spezialchemieunternehmen mit Sitz in Wesel, Deutschland.

 

Die Konzerngruppe bietet innovative, umweltverträgliche Speziallösungen für Lackhersteller, Lack- und Kunststoffverarbeiter, Druck- und Verpackungsindustrie, die Kosmetikbranche sowie die Elektroindustrie an.

 

ALTANA beschäftigt aktuell weltweit rund 7.000 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter in vier Geschäftsbereichen und erzielte 2022 einen Umsatz von über 3 Mrd. Euro.

DAS PROJEKT
DIE HERAUSFORDERUNG

Wer sind wir eigentlich?

Unter dem Dach von ALTANA agieren die jeweiligen Geschäftsbereiche mit ihren eigenen Marke. Sie bieten ihren Kunden weltweit Premiumprodukte und umfangreiche Dienstleistungen an. Gleichzeitig nutzen sie die Vorteile aus dem gemeinsamen Wissen und ihrem gemeinsamen Erfahrungsschatz. Das ALTANA Leitbild und die vier Werte Wertschätzung, Offenheit, Handlungsspielraum und Vertrauen sind für alle Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter die verbindliche Basis ihres gemeinsamen, zielorientierten Handelns.

 

Diese Werte, die Identität und Unternehmenskultur unternehmensweit einheitlich zu vermitteln, egal wo und in welchem Bereich man bei ALTANA arbeitet, war Ziel des Teams, das mit der Konzeption eines E-Learnings beauftragt war. Die Vision: Ein globales, digitales Onboarding. Denn unabhängig von lokalen Onboardingprogrammen gab es kein unternehmensweites Training, welches Neustarterinnen und Neustartern einen Überblick über den gesamten Konzern ermöglichte und mit dem ALTANA Leitbild harmonisierte.

 

Zudem sollte auch für künftige Führungskräfte ein Training konzipiert werden, welches ihnen die Führungsleitlinien näherbringt, sowie einen typischen Arbeitstag als Führungskraft veranschaulicht.

colleagues working in a chemical laboratory
DIE LÖSUNG

Von der grünen Wiese zu drei Stunden Onboarding und Leadership Trainings

„Uns war bewusst, dass wir ein echtes Mammut-Projekt angestoßen hatten. Unser Ziel war ein modulares eLearning mit interaktiven Elementen, Videos und Trailern. Onboarding@ALTANA sollte nicht nur Neueinsteigerinnen und -einsteigern, sondern auch langjährigen Kolleginnen und Kollegen eine Bandbreite an Möglichkeiten bieten, Konzern, Kultur und Leute neu kennenzulernen oder das eigene Wissen jederzeit aufzufrischen.

 

Daher haben wir uns die Anbieterwahl nicht leicht gemacht, denn neben fachlichen Kriterien war uns auch wichtig, dass menschlich die Chemie stimmt. Uns war klar, dass das Projekt zeitaufwendig und nur durch enge Absprachen und einen intensiven Austausch zu stemmen sein wird“, erinnert sich Andrea Pfister, CoE Talent Management.

 

Ines Conrad, Projektmanagerin bei imc ergänzt: „Wir sind bei ALTANA quasi auf der grünen Wiese gestartet. Das war einerseits eine Herausforderung, weil es nichts gab an dem wir uns orientieren konnten, aber gleichzeitig eine große Chance. Denn so konnten wir aus den Vollen schöpfen und unserer Kreativität freien Lauf lassen.“

graphics from altana training

Das ALTANA Team war offen für kreative Ideen und verließ sich auf die Expertise und Empfehlungen des imc Teams. Nach einem gemeinsamen Kick-Off vor Ort entschied man sich für zwei unterschiedliche, aber ineinandergreifende Trainingskonzepte. Zum einen das allgemeine Onboarding, das neue Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter verpflichtend durchlaufen, „die alten Hasen“ jedoch auf freiwilliger Basis ebenso nutzen können.

 

Zum anderen wurde das Training für Führungskräfte so konzipiert, dass Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter, die in eine Führungsrolle bei ALTANA wechseln, nur einen Teil des Trainings absolvieren müssen; Führungskräfte die neu ins Unternehmen kommen, jedoch das gesamte eLearning durchlaufen.

ERGEBNIS und AUSBLICK

Silber von der Brandon Hall Group und ausgezeichnetes internes Feedback

Das Ergebnis überzeugt: Die zwei modular aufgebauten eLearning Curricula für Mitarbeitende sowie Führungskräfte vereinen unterschiedliche Formate. Von der Einladungs-E-Mail und einem Motivationstrailer, in dem der Vorstand begrüßt, der Inhaltsvermittlung über WBTs, Performance Cards und Readiness Check, bis zur Anbindung des BizQuiz Formats als Abschluss, ist ein bunter Blumenstraß an eLearning Formaten entstanden.

Das Ergebnis beeindruckte auch die Jury der renommierten Brandon Hall Group, die jährlich herausragende Leistungen in der Fort- und Weiterbildung mit dem „HCM Award for Excellence“ auszeichnet. ALTANA und imc konnten sich über eine Silber-Medaille in der Kategorie „Talent Acquisition“ freuen.

 

Dass das Projekt ein Erfolg war, zeigen auch die von ALTANA erhobenen Umfrageergebnisse: Beide Onboarding Programme wurden auf einer Skala von 1 bis 5 mit mehr als 4 Punkten bewertet, ein überdurchschnittlich gutes Ergebnis.

 

Andrea Pfister resümiert: „Wir sind mit dem Ergebnis absolut zufrieden und haben im Projekt viel lernen können, auch was das Thema Kommunikation und internes Stakeholdermanagement angeht. Die Zusammenarbeit mit der imc war zu jeder Zeit überaus angenehm, pragmatisch, offen und zuverlässig."

graphics from altana training
Ergebnis
3 Stunden Lerninhalte
Lernformate
Blended Learning
Auszeichnung
Brandon Hall Award
DAS SAGEN UNSERE KUNDEN
Wir sind mit dem Ergebnis absolut zufrieden und haben im Projekt viel lernen können, auch was das Thema Kommunikation und internes Stakeholdermanagement angeht. Die Zusammenarbeit mit der imc war zu jeder Zeit überaus angenehm, pragmatisch, offen und zuverlässig.
Andrea Pfister
CoE Talent Management
ALTANA AG
INFOS & DOWNLOADS
Weitere Erfolgsgeschichten

Erfahren Sie warum Kunden weltweit auf die Lösungen und Produkte der imc setzen.

two colleagues discussing their work in a chemical laboratory
Case Study
ALTANA

The Right Chemistry: ALTANA’s Award-Winning Onboarding Programme

altana logo

ALTANA AG is a global leader in specialty chemicals headquartered in Wesel, Germany.

 

The ALTANA Group offers innovative, environmentally compatible solutions for coating manufacturers, paint and plastics processors, the printing and packaging industries, the cosmetics sector, and the electrical and electronics industry.

 

ALTANA employs around 7,000 people worldwide in four business divisions and generated sales of over 3 billion euros in 2022.

THE PROJECT
THE CHALLENGE

Who are we exactly?

The business divisions that make up ALTANA each operate under their own brands. They offer premium products and a comprehensive array of services to customers worldwide, leveraging the group’s combined knowledge and wealth of experience. ALTANA’s guiding principles and its four corporate values of Appreciation, Openness, Empowerment to Act and Trust serve as a mandatory basis for joint, goal-oriented action for all employees.

 

The project team was tasked with communicating these values and the ALTANA identity and culture uniformly to all people across all locations and divisions throughout the organisation. And that called for a global, digitalised onboarding programme. The group already had local onboarding programmes. But there was no group-wide e-learning system to give new hires an overview of the entire organisation. And certainly not one that harmonised with ALTANA’s guiding principles.

 

The team also had to design a training programme for future leadership personnel. The brief: a system that could onboard new leaders with key leadership guidelines and illustrate a leader’s typical working day.

colleagues discussing their work in a chemical laboratory
THE SOLUTION

Three-hour e-learning programmes for new hires and leadership personnel

“We knew we had taken on a truly mammoth project,” says Andrea Pfister from ALTANA’s Talent Management CoE. “We wanted a modular e-learning system with interactive elements, videos and trailers. Onboarding@ALTANA had to be aimed at both new hires and long-serving colleagues. The idea was to have multiple options for newcomers to get to know our organisation and its culture and people. We also wanted established employees to be able to refresh their knowledge at any time.

 

Consequently, we took great pains to find the right provider. We needed someone who met the technical criteria, obviously, but the personal chemistry had to be right too. We knew it was going to be a long-running project that would require close consultation and intensive dialogue.”

 

“For us, it was kind of a greenfield project at ALTANA. That was quite a challenge: although there was a large number of "individual, diverse" materials, these had to be put together to form a meaningful whole. And, of course, completely new modules had to be developed together with technical experts. However, it was also a major opportunity because it meant we had a free hand and could give free rein to our creativity.”

selection of graphics from ALTANA onboarding

A greenfield project

It was an exciting opportunity for imc, as project manager Ines Conrad explains: “For us, it was pretty much a greenfields project at ALTANA. That was quite a challenge, as there was not much we could use as a starting point. But it was also a major opportunity because it meant we had a free hand and could give free rein to our creativity.”

 

The ALTANA team was open to creative ideas and to relying on the expertise and recommendations of the imc team. Following a joint kick-off meeting on site, ALTANA opted for a programme comprising two different but interlocking parts. The first part was the general onboarding programme – mandatory for new employees and voluntary for the old hands.

 

The second part was the training programme specifically for leadership personnel. The idea was that existing employees moving up into leadership roles would only have to do the leadership part. External leadership appointees, on the other hand, would have to complete both parts.

THE RESULT

Silver Award from Brandon Hall Group and excellent in-house feedback

The result of the project is nothing short of impressive: a colourful array of e-learning formats structured into two modular, target group-specific curricula. The programme starts with an invitation e-mail and a teaser trailer that includes a welcome message from the Management Board. The content itself is delivered via web-based training sessions, with learning supported by performance cards and the Readiness Check feature. The programme also integrates the imc BizQuiz format.

 

This result certainly impressed the jury at human capital management gurus Brandon Hall Group, the sponsor of the annual HCM Excellence Awards. The programme won ALTANA and imc silver in the Talent Acquisition category at the 2023 awards.

 

The project’s success is also evident from the results of employee surveys conducted by ALTANA. In those surveys, both onboarding programmes scored over 4 on a scale of 1 to 5 – a great result.

 

Needless to say, ALTANA is very happy. “We are absolutely delighted with the result. What’s more, the project taught us a lot, including about communication and internal stakeholder management,” explains Andrea Pfister. “imc was an extremely enjoyable, pragmatic, open and reliable partner to work with at all times.”

selection of graphics from ALTANA onboarding
Result
3 hours training
Learning format
Blended Learning
Award
Brandon Hall Silver Award
WHAT OUR CUSTOMERS SAY
Andrea Pfister, Altana
We are absolutely delighted with the result. What’s more, the project taught us a lot, including about communication and internal stakeholder management. imc was an extremely enjoyable, pragmatic, open and reliable partner to work with at all times.
Andrea Pfister
CoE Talent Management
ALTANA AG
More success stories

Find out why customers worldwide rely on imc solutions and products.